My Musical Kids in the Land of “Les Miserables”

I will never forget the first time I saw the musical Les Miserables on Broadway.  It was 1997 and my mom and I were enjoying a fabulous trip to New York City (paid for by my company at the time, thus making the trip even more fabulous!).  We debated back and forth on whether to see Chicago (my mom’s choice) or Les Mis (my choice).  I ended up winning (“thanks Mom!”) and we were stunned by one of the most amazing musicals ever performed on stage!

Since then, I have been listening to the musical’s soundtrack and my kids have grown up singing many of it’s incredible songs.  This soundtrack was played for hours on end when we moved to France 7 years ago, all of us belting out “Do You Hear the People Sing” in the car as we entered Paris after our 21-hour drive from Rome.  We felt one with France while singing these songs and it made us reflect on the struggles France had endured over the years and offered great opportunities to explain France’s history to the kids.

Although my kids loved the Les Mis music, their passion didn’t turn into obsession until they saw Les Miserables, the film.  As you can imagine, being in Paris is a dream come true for any Les Mis fan, and for my musical kids, every moment here is an opportunity to musically praise Les Mis, Victor Hugo, and all those who Joined in the fight that gave them the right to be free. The neighbors in our apartment must think that we are a traveling troupe here to do a Les Mis show. Every morning and evening the entire courtyard echoes with, One Day More, Red and Black, On My Own, etc…for hours.  Even my little Trevor knows all the words and can belt out several of the songs with an excellent British accent!

In closing, Kaitlin, Cassidy, Trevor, and I want to take this opportunity to say a big THANK YOU to Victor Hugo for writing such an amazing story, to France for being the beautiful country you are, and to all those who have given us Les Miserables, one of the best musicals ever!

Here is the Les Mis movie trailer:

 

Share with Us!

